NNLM Region 6 Speaker Spotlight Series

On the Job is a fresh account of a new kind of labor movement, one that is happening locally, quietly, and among our country's most vulnerable—but essential—workers. Noted public health expert Celeste Monforton and award-winning journalist Jane M. Von Bergen crisscrossed the country, speaking with workers of all backgrounds and uncovering the stories of hundreds of new worker-led organizations (often simply called worker centers) that have successfully achieved higher wages, safer working conditions, and on-the-job dignity for their members.

In this webinar, the authors will answer questions and engage in conversation about what they've discovered while writing their new book and what it means for the future of workers.

Speakers:
Celeste Monforton is director of the Beyond OSHA Project and lecturer at Texas State University. A sought-after national media commentator, she lives in San Marcos, Texas.

Jane M. Von Bergen is an award-winning reporter who covered labor for more than half of her thirty-five years at the Philadelphia Inquirer. She lives in Philadelphia.

This webinar will take place on Wed. Dec 15 at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11am MT/10 am PT

Objectives:
Class Resources:

Class Details

Date(s): December 15, 2021
Time: 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Platform: Zoom
Location:
CE Credits: 1.00
CE Categories:
Class Experience Level: Beginner
This class is sponsored by Region 6.

Class Contacts

Instructor: Nora Barnett
Technical Assistance: Molly Knapp

Can't join us live?

Register anyway and you'll receive the recording after the event.