Interview with the authors of On the Job: worker health is public health

This class is no longer accepting registrations

The pandemic triggered the term "essential workers" and brought attention to the nexus of unsafe jobs of public health.

Authors Celeste Monforton and Jane Von Bergen examine this connection as experienced by some of the nation's most vulnerable workers. They authors crisscrossed the country, speaking with dairy hands, poultry processing, domestics workers, and others to learn how essential workers are claiming their right to safe jobs for the well-being of their families and their communities.   In this webinar, the authors will engage in conversation, moderated by ProPublica reporter Maryam Jameel, about "worker centers" and the connection between these community organizations and social determinants of health.

Speakers:
Celeste Monforton is director of the Beyond OSHA Project and lecturer at Texas State University. A sought-after national media commentator, she lives in San Marcos, Texas.

Jane M. Von Bergen is an award-winning reporter who covered labor for more than half of her thirty-five years at the Philadelphia Inquirer. She lives in Philadelphia.

This webinar will take place on Wed. Dec 15 at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11am MT/10 am PT in Zoom. 

Objectives:
Class Resources:

Class Recording

Class Details

Date(s): December 15, 2021
Time: 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST
Platform: Zoom
Location:
CE Credits: 1.00
CE Categories:
Class Experience Level: Beginner
This class is sponsored by Region 6.
Learn more about this class and find other upcoming instances:

Class Contacts

Instructor: Nora Barnett
Technical Assistance: Jacqueline Leskovec

Can't join us live?

Register anyway and you'll receive the recording after the event.